World Rally Championship Safari Rally

The Safari was this year shorter than before (3500 km) but that did't mean it wasn't hard. Of the 42 starters only 10 made it to the finish. Subaru and Ford decided that Safari was the race they leave out of their schedules so of the top teams only Toyota and Mitsubishi were present.

Juha Kankkunen took the lead right from the start and it seemed that he is going to get his 4th Safari win. But on the third day he hit a pothole made by rain at 180 kph and rolled the car several times. Kankkunen and co-driver Nicky Grist got bruises but were otherwise unhurt.

The rally was won by Ian Duncan who drove one of the works Toyotas. Duncan has won the Kenyan rally championship several times, but this was his first WRC win.

Second was Mitsubishi's Kenjiro Shinozuka who is better known from rally raids and the Asia Pacific rally series. Third in his first Safari was Didier Auriol of Toyota. He had some problems early in the rally. Local favourite Patrick Njiru was 4th and won group N with a Subaru.

Winner Ian Duncan storming through the Kenyan dust.

Results of the WRC Safari Rally:
1. Ian Duncan        Toyota      20:49 time penalty
2. Kenjiro Shinozuka Mitsubishi  +25 min
3. Didier Auriol     Toyota      +1:10
4. Patrick Njiru     Subaru gr N +2:41
5. Richard Burns     Subaru gr N +2.51

Championship standing, drivers:
1. Juha Kankkunen    Toyota        35 points
2. Didier Auriol     Toyota        27
3. Massimo Biasion   Ford          22 
   Carlos Sainz      Subaru        22
5. Francois Delecour Ford          20
   Ian Duncan        Toyota        20
7. Kenjiro Shinozuka Mitsubishi    15
8. Patrick Njiru     Subaru        8

Next event: Tour de Corse (Rally of Corsica).

(C) 1994 WRC Infosystem By Petri Karonen ( May not be reproduced without author's permission. Permission is automatically granted for non-commercial use provided that the author is notified of the reproduction.